Creating
memories

The Wassmer

Young and experienced, approachable and disciplined: what at first seems contradictory comes together easily in Wassmer’s world. Since 2015 he has been a driving force behind the establishment of the new Swiss cuisine. Two Michelin stars and 18 points from the Gault-Millau are proof to his ambition. Telling stories, reviving old memories, and creating new ones is his purpose – a simply impressive balancing act between nostalgia and the avant-garde.

Gault Millau 18
Sven Wassmer
Hotelier Logo Financial Times Logo Deutsche Welle Logo
Preserved vegetables from the 7132 Silver kitchen

New Pragmatism

Together with his wife, maître and sommelier Amanda Wassmer Bulgin, Sven Wassmer conveys a new understanding of the contemporary culinary art where focus and foresight are not contradictory, but equal key properties.

The Swiss Alps, with its unique biodiversity, are as relevant to his work as his personal experience, knowledge, and access to the edible treasures that can be found outside of his current periphery.

Free from ideologies, Wassmer finds his bearings in practical standards and relies on variation and the highest quality to not only fulfil expectations but to exceed them – without exception.

Valley of Vals, Switzerland

The Alps, his culinary treasure chest

On the steep slopes of the Val Lumnezia Wassmer forages wild fruit, herbs and mushrooms for his dishes. Close by, in Cumbel, they pull the fresh chars out from the glacier water and local potatoes are grown in the Albula valley.

Deeply rooted into the real world and with high precision he creates his seasonal cuisine based on the region’s wisdom and richness. In order to reach his ambitious goal to inspire experts and gourmets alike he combines rare local ingredients with the best produce from all over the world.

Chef Sven Wassmer preparing plates

Creating memories

Der Wassmer

Jung und erfahren, zugänglich und diszipliniert: was auf den ersten Blick nicht zusammen geht, findet in Wassmers Welt spielend zueinander. Seit 2015 prägt der junge Fricktaler die neue Schweizer Küche. Zwei Sterne vom Guide Michelin und 18 Punkte im Restaurantführer Gault-Millau untermauern seine hohen Ambitionen. Geschichten erzählen, alte Erinnerungen wiederbeleben und neue schaffen, das ist sein Anspruch – ein feines Spiel zwischen Nostalgie und Avantgarde.

Gault Millau 18
Sven Wassmer
Hotelier Logo Financial Times Logo Deutsche Welle Logo
Eingemachtes Gemüse in der 7132 Silver Küche

Neuer Pragmatismus

Gemeinsam mit seiner Frau, Restaurantleiterin und Sommelier Amanda Wassmer Bulgin, vermittelt Sven Wassmer ein neues Verständnis zeitgemässer Kulinarik, in dem Fokus und Weitblick keinen Widerspruch, sondern vielmehr ebenbürtige Schlüsseleigenschaften darstellen.

Die Alpen mit ihrer einzigartigen Artenvielfalt sind hier ebenso relevant wie persönliche Erfahrung, Wissen und Zugang zu den essbaren Schätzen, die ausserhalb des direkten Umfelds gedeihen.

Frei von Ideologien orientiert sich Wassmer an praktischen Massstäben und setzt auf Vielfalt und höchste Qualität, um Erwartungen nicht nur zu erfüllen, sondern zu übertreffen – jeden Tag aufs Neue.

Valser Tal, Schweiz

Die Alpen, seine kulinarische Schatztruhe

An den steilen Hängen des Val Lumnezia sammelt Wassmer Wildfrüchte, Kräuter und Pilze für seine Gerichte. Im nahegelegenen Cumbel holt man für ihn Saiblinge aus dem Gletscherwasser und im Albulatal wachsen die Kartoffeln.

Tief verwurzelt im Hier und Jetzt und unter höchster Präzision gestaltet Wassmer mit seinem Team basierend auf dem Wissen und Reichtum der Region seine saisonale Küche. Experten und Geniesser gleichermassen zu begeistern, das ist Wassmers ambitioniertes Ziel und dafür kombiniert er auf unnachahmliche Weise die essbaren Schätze der Region mit den besten Zutaten aus aller Welt.

Koch Sven Wassmer richtet Teller an